|
Someone thought it might be a good idea to register freshports.net and display
the contents of FreshPorts on their page. What is really
amazing is that they were asking for donations.
Don't bother looking at their website. The falsehoods are gone now.
I have screen shots and many witnesses. The fake looked real enough. I
know many users didn't notice the difference because they didn't mention
anything to me. I know two users did. I wish to thank them for their
emails, both of with arrived within seconds of each other. Their
alertness helped to remove this scam.
The thief is Gabriel Medina as provided by the whois details:
Spectronet
Gabriel Medina (webmaster@freshports.net)
0704417232
Fax: 0704417232
Torgilsg 36
Molndal, VG 43136
SE
I find the actions of Gabriel Medina atrocious. I find it particular distasteful. The only credit is that
the misleading information was immediately removed upon request. There's nothing like getting caught to
force action.
However, I find Gabriel Medina's claims to innocence lacking in credibility. Something may be lost in the translation
as we do not share a common first language. I'll be interested in what others think of the email logs.
Full information is available at http://www.FreshPorts.org/fraud/.
Please address any analysis, feedback, or comments to the FreshPorts thread
I've started.
|